Quixotic

by Justin

I really like how this page is shaping up.

I spent some time finally getting the Home page out of “Lorem Ipsum-land,” and updated the resume a bit. I got the Gravatar in the sidebar out of lorem text too, but I’m still not entirely happy with it. Adding the calendar gave the sidebar some balance. That is probably permanent; I mentioned it on the Home screen.

Here’s my favorite thing about the site so far: the header image!

It’s a photo of a group of windmills at Campo de Criptana in La Mancha. La Mancha of Quixotic legend. Here’s the full image, credited to Lourdes Cardenal, and used under Creative Commons License.

"Campo de Criptana Molinos de Viento" by: Lourdes Cardenal

I like it for this website. I can imagine Don Quixote tilting fully at these “giant” windmills in La Mancha, and I think the word “quixotic” is well-suited to describe my mind.

quixotic (adj.) 1 : foolishly impractical especially in the pursuit of ideals; especially : marked by rash lofty romantic ideas or extravagantly chivalrous action

-Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary

Foolish? Check. Impractical? Check. Marked by rash lofty romantic ideas?

Double-check!

So I dig it. I’ve been feeling rather quixotic since I began blogging anyway.

I think it’s a good fit.

