Top of the Heap

by Justin

I’m going to have to kill a pirate.

A friend of mine wrote a blog post recently about page ranking and search engine optimization. Specifically, he wrote about controlling what comes up on a Google search for you name, and the embarrassing website he had put up long ago and since forgot about (he has since re-worked it).

It made me do something I haven’t done in years. I googled myself, wondering if this site would come up. It’s pretty much named after me, I was sure it would be top of the heap.

But no luck. Here’s what popped up…

Guess I don't really "own" the name Justin Westbrook after all.

There are green check marks by the search items that are me, and red cross-outs that are not me.

The top spot belongs to a Twitter user, @VestaviaPirate, who is also named Justin Westbrook. My Twitter appears just below him, but it looks like I’m some sort of sub-user under the pirate…what the heck? He’s not even that neat of a dude, to be honest. I found that out because…uhm…well, I’m stalking his Twitter now…shut up.

So now I’ve got some sort of quasi-goal to bump this pirate off the top of my name search, and while I’m at it I’m going to clutter up this particular search with all of my blogs, web projects, and such.

Because if there is one thing I learned from watching the Sci-Fi channel when I was a teenager it is that there can only be one…

