Playlist: 90s Alt-Rock Bike

by Justin

Task: Create a playlist for some an afternoon on the trails mountain biking.

Conditions: Given my iTunes playlist, my CDs, and an evening of free time.

Standards: An hour-or-so-long playlist with no dupes, by band or album focussing on alternative and rock music from the 1990s.

Here’s what I came up with:

  1. Heavy – Collective Soul
  2. Salvation – The Cranberries
  3. Special – Garbage
  4. Wish You Were Here – Incubus
  5. All Over You – Live
  6. Mother Nature’s Fault – Self
  7. Get Back – Zebrahead
  8. Them Bones – Alice in Chains
  9. Don Quixote – Cherry Poppin’ Daddies
  10. My Hero – Foo Fighters
  11. As Heaven is Wide – Garbage
  12. The Impression That I Get – The Mighty Mighty Bosstones
  13. Even Flow – Pearl Jam
  14. Never There – Cake
  15. Fortune Faded – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  16. Thnks Fr Th Mmrs – Fall Out Boy
  17. Loser – Beck
  18. Never Let You Go – Third Eye Blind

So, how’d it work? EXCELLENT! I cheated a little bit. The Fall Out Boy track is not from the 90s, I’m pretty sure of that, but I couldn’t leave it off the list, aaaaand, there are two tracks by Garbage on there, but I’ll allow it.

The playlist was perfect for my ride. MVP goes to The Cranberries. I felt like I was taking a chance on that one (I wasn’t sure if it would fit my pedaling cadence), but it really worked.

I made the whole playlist available on YouTube, and posted the individual videos below.

Anyway, enjoy some tunes…

