Snackventure! (Daylily Edition)

by Justin

Some of you know I’ve been dying to devour a daylily since I first heard it was possible.

Here’s a quick storyboard of the process, as I hunted down and ate my first daylily.

First off, these were my daylilies (you might remember them from here).

Dang, those are some sweet daylilies you might say...

So basically, I just shoveled one of these things out of the ground. Beneath the soil was a massive cluster of tiny tubers, about the size of peanuts. I wish I had taken a photo of the clump, but here is a photo of the bucket that I filled with the tubers from one plant, after I shook off all the soil and broke the cluster apart.

The kiddos helped.

I've got a lovely green bucket of daylily tubers, bum-ba-bum...

Once I finished cutting all the tiny roots away, I had about a quart of daylily tubers.

Do you notice how some of them are brown and some of them are white? It seems that most of them have the brown skin, but there are a few oddballs (oddtubers?) that don’t have it.

I took a bite out of one of the white ones (they seemed to be the cleanest), and it tasted a lot like jicama. That wasn’t an original observation, I was confirming what I’d read about them. The brown ones tasted mostly like soil.

They were tasty, but I got that little tingle in the back of my throat that I got when I munched one of the raw daylily buds and a piece of the stalk. It was the kind of tingle I get when I eat something to which I’m allergic. At this point, I considered chickening out, but I continued.

The recipe said “sauté in butter” so that’s what I did. Turns out there is no good way to make a credible variation of the verb “sauté.” Watch: sautéing, sautéed…any of those look right to you?

It ought to just be called "heating in salt and butter, while shaking the daggum pan around on the burner."

I cooked an equal amount of white and brown tubers, even though there were way more brown ones than white. There was a sweetness to the raw white ones that I was really looking forward to after cooking.

And here is the result:

Perhaps a little overcooked, but that's okay. The burned parts have all the vitamins.

How did they taste? They tasted fine. The white ones stayed delicious. The wrinkled skin on the brown ones (you can see many in the photo above) took something away from them. I might like to try more of the white ones, because there is no way I’m going to peel a peanut-sized daylily tuber.

I was told they tasted better than potatoes. I’m not so sure that’s accurate. It might be that I just didn’t cook them very well. No big deal, I had a good time and spent the afternoon in the sunshine with the kiddos ripping apart a daylily.

What more could you ask for?

