Citizenship: By Blood or Breaking Water? (via The Soldier-Citizen-Sapien Project)

by Justin

Last Friday was Constitution Day (formerly Citizenship Day). In my weekly Friday post at The Soldier-Citizen-Sapien Project I explored one of the issues confronting us today in the wake of the perceived incursion of immigrants and culture: who deserves citizenship and why.

I really enjoyed writing this post. It is an issue that I think is important, and this week I had some really great commenters add an extra dimension to the conversation. I was pretty excited about that.

Go ahead and check out my latest post at The Soldier-Citizen-Sapien Project.

Today is Constitution Day, a day to commemorate the orignal signing of the U.S. Constitution that took place in 1787. It used to be called Citizenship Day. The day has another lawful function, in addition to its purpose of commemorating the signing of the Constitution.  Constitution Day and Citizenship Day commemorate the formation and signing on September 17, 1787, of the Constitution and recognize all who, by coming of age or by naturalization, … Read More

via The Soldier-Citizen-Sapien Project

