Snackventure! (Christmas Tree Tea Edition)

by Justin

I have been dying to do this experiment ever since I found this Douglas Fir Tip Tea in Vermont a few weeks ago. You can probably guess what this tea is all about; it is basically the budding leaves from the ends of douglas fir branches, ground up and packed into a tea bag.

It tastes about exactly like it’s supposed to. The way I think about it is this: do you know those little pots that people put Christmas trees in and keep filled with water so the tree doesn’t dry out? Imagine what that water would taste like after being steeped in Christmas tree for a week or so. So it’s subtle and woody, and I like it.

But once I decided that this tea tasted like a Christmas tree, I wanted to kick it up a notch. That’s when my next idea hit me…

I normally keep around a healthy supply of peppermint tea. It’s good for when I have a sore throat, and I’ve recently been having the kids huff the peppermint vapor off a big steaming bowl when they get the sniffles. They think it “smells like medicine,” and the vapor does kind of break up their congestion.

But because it’s peppermint tea, I decided it would be perfect for a Christmas Tree Tea blend, mixed up with the douglas fir tips.

Boy was I right! The two flavors really worked together well. The douglas fir tip stuff is very mild by itself, and also VERY woody. It can tend to dry out the mouth a little bit. The peppermint tea is VERY bright and can be a little overpowering sometimes. Sometimes I’ll skip it in favor of a less-expressive herbal tea.

These two flavors together created a wonderful complimentary balance. I really enjoyed it. I was actually shocked when I tried to decide which flavor the tea tasted more like, and I couldn’t figure it out. It’s a perfect Christmas tree combo.

So perfect in fact, that I quickly settled down with a big 10th Mountain Division mug full of it, and grabbed a long overdue library book that I’ve been meaning to finish.

I’m looking forward to spending the snowy season sipping Christmas Tree Tea and mailing bundles of the stuff to my friends as Christmas presents.

